Going Alternative

I’ve started acupuncture, yoga, reiki and weeing on a stick every morning. It’s been 12 months, time to get serious.

The alternative to these ‘alternatives’ is IVF, so you can see why I’m desperately looking for something else that works. I’m even sleeping with a quartz stone by my bed that’s supposed to help with good fertility juju. Now even I think this one is grasping at straws, but after 1 year of trying and with my 38th birthday looming, I’m willing to give anything a go.

Yoga is an easy one. I’ve practised it on and off for many years. I recommend for anyone thinking of conceiving, it will get your body nice and balanced and relaxed. There are classes specifically for fertility, but I’m going for the cheap option; the class offered at the budget gym I belong to. Not totally relaxing when you can hear the music from the gym thumping through the walls, but still a good stretch.

Acupuncture I’ve had before on a dodgy shoulder so I was quite happy to see if tiny needles could free up my energy and get everything flowing where it needs to flow. Acupuncture stimulates the nerves in your body and frees up blocked Qi.  I can’t say I completely understand it, but studies have shown it can help fertility, so I’m in.  It’s also deeply relaxing and I found myself having a little snooze, which made for a nice post work power nap before the commute home.

I don’t think I would have sought out reiki if I didn’t already know someone who practises. She offered to give us both a session. The other half agreed dubiously and she came to our house one Saturday.

Reiki is based on the principal that the practitioner can channel energy into the patient by means of touch.  She had very hot hands and I felt like my body was rocking from side to side although I was lying completely still.  Despite his reluctance P found it relaxing and was impressed by her accuracy in pinpointing the past wear and tear on his body.  She couldn’t feel anything that was particularly wrong with either of us and said we just needed to be patient, which is basically what my regular doctor said.

Probably the most helpful of the new approaches are the ovulation tester sticks. They tell you when you have an LH surge, which means you are likely to ovulate in the next 24-48 hours.

I wish I knew these existed sooner. I began monitoring from about day 10.  We did our usual day on, day off routine during the expected ovulation time, but no positive test reading.  As it crept up to day 20 I began to think I had missed it, or that the tests were faulty, I had bought them off Ebay for a fiver after all.

I was about to give up, when boom! Day 24, my LH was peaking. So late in the month! This could be the reason it’s taken so long. We usually call a halt to the bedroom antics on about day 18 and after the enforced routine can barely stand to touch each other for 2 weeks. We’ve been missing the prime time spot!

After this revelation combined with all the good energy flow from yoga, acupuncture, reiki and, not to forget the quartz stone, I am filled with a new confidence. I’ve still got my first IVF appointment booked as back up, but I’m hopeful that by the time it takes the NHS to get organised I won’t need to go down that route.

Leave a Reply

